Iran Visa


How to Get an Iran Visa on Arrival – 180 Countries

Most airlines flying to Iran will not allow you on a flight unless you show you have the visa, but you can get a visa on arrival. However, sanctions have been lifted, most notably in 2016, with up to 900 Visas daily on average granted on arrival, according to the Office of Foreign Affairs. Tourism numbers annually have increased year-on-year, with 5.2 million foreign visitors entering Iran in 2015, in comparison to 4.7 million in 2013.


On the 14th February 2016, the Ministry of Iran announced that airports are directed to issue 30-day visas for nationals of 180 countries. 


Non-eligible nationalities for Iran Visa On Arrival:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Canada, Colombia, India, Iraq, Jordan, Pakistan, Somalia, USA, UK


A 30-day Tourist Visa Upon Arrival, for those of eligible nationality, can be obtained at the following airports:

IKA: Tehran Imam Khomeini Airport
THR: Tehran Mehrabad Airport
MHD: Mashad Airport
SYZ: Shiraz Airport
TBZ: Tabriz Airport
ISF: Isfahan Airport


Getting Your Iran Authorisation Code – Non-Eligible Nationalties

Before you apply for your visa (giving you up to 30 days), you have to apply for an Authorisation Code. EVERYONE has to have one of these and it will determine if you are granted an application for a visa or not. For those who HAVE to travel in a group (see below), this code will normally be processed by your tour company; for everyone else, you will can use, source an Iranian travel agency local to you or seek direction from the embassy you wish to get for visa from about where to apply for it.




  • Citizens of the countries listed below, do not need to apply for a visa to travel to Iran based on diplomatic agreements:


  • We recommend you to visit Here for further information.